Tags

, , , ,

Because Witchcraft is clearly the polar opposite to the Lord's Prayer...makes complete sense.

A friend of mine posted this picture on Facebook earlier. I have to admit, I had my fair share of a laugh at it. Like any good former Christian-turned-Pagan, I do try and ‘blaspheme’ (to use their word) as much as possible. But, then again, like the good little academic that I am, I actually started to think about the ramifications of this debate, as well as argue the different sides (all to myself, like any Libra is prone to do).

Prayer in school is not really a terrible thing, on one level. After all, read any introductory book to Wicca or witchcraft, and a fair amount of authors will assert that we do not ‘pray,’ per se. That is, we don’t say the Lord’s Prayer, or anything like that. Now, some will liken our spellwork to praying, but I personally find it somewhat laughable that, were there a time set aside during school for anyone to actually pray, the little Witch would pull out her candles and perform a spell to get good grades on the upcoming tests. Just not the way I see that working, to be honest.

On the other hand, making a show of public prayer (as this movement is ultimately doing) is perhaps one of the many un-Christlike attributes that the ‘right’ has so fully embodied. Now, I can hear some dissenters: how is prayer un-Christlike? What do you mean? How dare you!

Well, here’s how I dare. Now, I had to actually look this up earlier, just for ramification’s sake, but at one point Jesus actually sees a Pharisee (think zealot, or, if you prefer, the obnoxious Christian right) praying rather publicly in the temple, also going on about how glad he is not like any of the ‘lesser’ people. Contrast that to the tax collector, who does not make a production out of his supplication, but rather is more heartfelt. The lesson? Spectacles aren’t really any good, because for all the work you may put into the spectacle, it still won’t hide the true intent of what you are saying.

So, prayer in schools. Are we attempting to promote ourselves as a truly ‘Christian’ nation? It would seem that way, even when the reality is that America has always been something of a melting pot of nationalities, creeds, etc. But for all that promotion, the amount of domestic unrest seems to highlight the fact that we are not at all as we may pretend to be, that, in fact, there are those internal elements that are at odds with the attempted greater whole. Rather, we should be more “Christ-like,” regardless of our own personal beliefs, because, in truth, to act as such requires only the tenets of compassion and love (yes, some could argue that, in fact, the two are one and the same).

I am a Witch, but I am Christ-like, because I know that compassion and love, even on an individual level, will help this world reach a much better place than where it currently is.

Now, if I could just remember where I got this darn soap box from…hm…